When installing Deep Freeze on a system that hosts multiple users there are a few considerations to keep in mind. This document will outline the information that system administrators need to be aware of when installing Deep Freeze in a multi user environment such as Terminal Services, or systems using nComputing hardware.
Commands affect all Clients
The first thing to be aware of is that Deep Freeze works at the machine level, not the user level. As such any commands sent to the workstation will affect all the users logged into that specific machine. Care should be taken to ensure that users are notified of maintenance work to avoid disruption
This also extends to commands performed at the local machine, as best practice we recommend not providing the users with the ability to access the boot control menu as this would allow that user to reboot the server affecting all logged in users.
Locking / Unlocking Client Stations
The lock / unlock commands from the Deep Freeze workstation affect only local clients, not users logged in remotely using RDP.
Deep Freeze Configuration
The Deep Freeze Configuration is set at the machine level and as such cannot be changed dependent on the user logging into the system. Any configuration changes will affect all users that log into that system.
Reboot on Logoff
The reboot on logoff feature of Deep Freeze will only trigger when the last user logs off the system.
As of Deep Freeze 7.71 any workstation notifications will be displayed on all active user sessions except on Server 2012. On Server 2012 the notifications will only be display to the first user that logged into the system.
Versions of Deep Freeze prior to 7.71 may display the notifications only to local users, or only to the first user logged on depending on the version of Deep Freeze and the installed operating system.