Knowledgebase
Mapping Google Chrome to update on a frozen system.
Posted by Adam Zilliax on 25 March 2013 09:36 AM

Overview
This document will detail the process for setting up Google Chrome in a thawed location.

Background
Setting up Google Chrome in a thawed location will allow for the automatic updating of the application as well as retention of any user specific data that may be saved as part of the browsers use.

Solution 1
Since the Chrome browser is user-specific application, it keeps all its data files within the user profile folder of the user from which it was installed. As such, the easiest way of retaining Chrome browser data is to redirect the whole user profile onto Thawed location. The recommended way of doing it is using Faronics Data Igloo, which will physically move the user profile folder onto Thawed location and make appropriate changes in system registries pointing onto that location.
Assuming, the Data Igloo is already installed on the system, and Deep Freeze workstation is configured to have at least one Thawed drive or ThawSpace, use following steps for configuring Chrome to retain its data:

  1. Reboot system into Thawed state. This will insure all provided below changes will be saved.
  2. Login with any administrator account, which is different from the user, where the Chrome will be installed or is already installed on. If there are no any other user accounts existing, create new administrator account.
  3. Using Data Igloo “User Profile Redirection” feature, redirect designated user profile onto Thawed location.
  4. Logout from current user and login on to designated user account, which require to retain Chrome data. At this point the user account created in step 2 can be deleted if it is no longer needed. 
  5. Install Chrome browser, if it is not installed yet.
  6. Reboot computer back to Frozen state.

Now Chrome browser installed on designated user will retain all its browser’s  data, as well as Chrome can be automatically updated to new version in Frozen state.

Solution 2
In some cases the user might need to keep the user profile Frozen, while retaining Chrome browser’s data. To achieve that, only the folder, which contain Chrome browser’s data must be redirected. The recommended way of doing it is using Faronics Data Igloo, which will redirect “Chrome” folder onto Thawed location.
Assuming, the Data Igloo is already installed on the system, and Deep Freeze workstation is configured to have at least one Thawed drive or ThawSpace, use following steps for configuring Chrome to retain its data:

  1. Reboot system into Thawed state. This will insure all provided below changes will be saved.
  2. Login with any administrator account. This can be same account, which will have Chrome installed or where Chrome is already installed. 
  3. If Chrome is currently opened, close it. 
  4. Using Data Igloo “Folder Redirection” feature, redirect following folder:
    • On Xp systems: 
      • Documents and Settings\<user name>\Application Data\Local\Google\Chrome
    • On Vista, Windows 7 and Windows 8 systems:
      • Users\<user name>\Appdata\Local\Google\Chrome
    • Here, the <user name> is the name of designated user, which require to retain Chrome browser’s data.
  5. If Chrome is not installed yet, create mentioned above folders manually before redirecting them.
  6. Install Chrome browser, if it is not installed yet.
  7. Reboot computer back to Frozen state.

Now Chrome browser will retain all its data, as well as it can be automatically updated to new version in Frozen state.

Recommendation
Before uninstalling Chrome browser, it is recommended to use Data Igloo in order to revert back the folder redirection provided in Solution 2. This will insure the correct functioning of Data Igloo after the redirected folder would be removed during Chrome uninstallation. In case of using Solution 1, the redirected user profile can remain redirected during Chrome uninstallation

(18 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)