Knowledgebase: Deep Freeze
How do I save newly created profiles on a system with Deep Freeze installed and enabled
Posted by , Last modified by Adam Zilliax on 17 January 2012 12:42 PM

In computer labs where users may log onto any workstation using personalized local profiles, installing Deep Freeze may cause difficulties as changes, including newly created profiles, are removed when Deep Freeze is in an enabled state and the workstation is restarted.

Newly created profiles on a Windows workstation can be retained even with Deep Freeze installed when redirected onto a Thawed area using Data Igloo.

To retain data, you will first need to ensure that you have a location that is not protected by Deep Freeze where the users data can be saved. This location can be either a ThawSpace created by Deep Freeze or a physical partition which is not Frozen by Deep Freeze.

Creating a Thawed location for user data.

From the 'Drives' tab of the Deep Freeze Configuration Administrator Deep Freeze can be configured to set specific volumes as Thawed by clearing the check box beside the drive letter that you want to thaw. It is not recommended to set the system volume (C:\ in most cases) as thawed. If a second partition is not available a ThawSpace can be created to act as a virtual partition to save data to.

To create a ThawSpace, open the Configuration Administrator and click on the Drives tab while creating your workstation install package. To create a ThawSpace select the drive letter, size, and host drive that you want to use and click the Add button in the ThawSpace section of the drives tab. Once created in the Configuration Administrator the workstaiton install file must be saved, and then deployed to the client workstations. Once installed the ThawSpace will show up as a lettered volume in My Computer.

Please ensure that the size of your ThawSpace does not exceed the amount of free disk space on your host drive and is also configured to have enough free disk space for your redirected data.


Mapping the user to the thawed location.

Once you have created a thawed location, Install Faronics Data Igloo and on the user mapping tab:

  1. Mark the option to 'Redirect any newly created user profiles to:'
  2. Select a Thawed target area where your newly created profiles will be saved.

Once applied any new user profiles created on the system will be created in the thawed location.

(7 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)