Knowledgebase: Faronics Products > Power Save
What is the difference between sleep, hibernation, and other power saving states?
Posted by Adam Zilliax on 17 February 2011 02:19 PM

Modern computer systems define a number of operating modes that determine what level of power they consume, these states are defined in the ACPI specification as follows:

  • S0 - Working state.
  • G1 - Sleep State.
  • G2 - Soft off.
  • G3 - Mechanical off.

Each of the states from S0 to G3 consume less and less power with G3 representing a computer that is physically disconnected from power.

G1 defnies a number of sub states as follows:

  • S1 - System is in an idle state, CPU and RAM remain powered and any device that does not state that it requires power may be powered down.
  • S2 - CPU is powered off.
  • S3 - This state is commonly called Standby, Sleep, or Suspend to RAM, and is the default sleep state for most newer computers.
  • S4 - Hibernation or Suspend to Disk, in this state the computers memory contents are saved to a hard disk and the sysetm is powered down. At restart the computer restores the previous state of the computer from disk.

The sleep states above again take less and less power as they progress from S1 to S4, eventually reaching a point at S4 that consumes the same power as the computer when in the G2 state (Soft Off). As the system progresses through theses states the ammount of time taken to return to the working state increases as well.

(15 vote(s))
Not helpful

Comments (0)